Lynn Drury
Lynn Drury's compositions are as rich and full of visual imagery as life itself. Often autobiographical, each song is carefully crafted around its initial inspiration, ranging from love and loss to beauty and butterflies. Her sound combines the twang and grit of her native Mississippi and the funky grooves of her adopted home of New Orleans. Drury released her first CD, Crossing Frequencies, in 2001 and over the next two years released two more, Blackberry Winter and Spun, as well as winning Best Emerging Singer/Songwriter for Offbeat Magazine. In 2006 her record All You Need produced by Jimbo Mathus (Squirrel Nut Zippers) was nominated for Best Roots-Rock Album at the Big Easy Awards, and it's still selling. In 2008 Lynn moved to Italy and toured Europe with Italian guitarist Roberto Luti, releasing Dal Vivo, a live CD in 2009. In 2010 a grant from Threadhead Records Foundation assisted Lynn in making Sugar On the Floor. The stellar lineup on the record includes Alex McMurray (Tin Men, Royal Fingerbowl), Tommy Malone (Subdudes), Ivan Neville, Helen Gillet, Bill Malchow, and Eric Traub. Produced by Carlo Nuccio (who also plays drums on the album), much of the disc was recorded and engineered by Jacques DeLatour at Fudge Recording Studios in New Orleans. Sugar On the Floor was released in the spring of 2011. In December 2012, Lynn received another grant from the Threadhead Foundation, which helped fund her latest release. Come to My House hit the streets in 2014. It is produced by John Porter (Taj Mahal, Ryan Adams, Keb Mo) and features Shane Theriot, Chris Adkins, Trevor Brooks, Alex McMurray, Chris Pylant and Casandra Faulconer. Jon Cleary & Evan Christopher also lend their talents to I Know You Want Me and Always, respectively. In 2015, she received nominations for Best Female Performer (Big Easy Awards), Songwriter of the Year & Best Roots Rock Album for Come to My House (Offbeat Awards) and also began work on a new album of songs, which is due out in 2016.